MetroCard

I wrote this on October 18th. I just read it, and I liked this bit.

MetroCard

A MetroCard jumped out at my the other day,
It’s bright yellow drew my eye
behind the layer of mesh on
the haversack that held it.
A thud sounded in my core.
flashing my last New York months
under my eye lids as I blinked.
An imperceptible gasp,
drawing the memories into my lungs.
I said, “homesick”.
My word choice confuses me.
Not a thing in the city pleased me,
but the city itself

One thought on “MetroCard

Leave a Reply

