Hulufication of YouTube?

Here’s the article I’m talking about.

And here’s my video:

I’m so unsure of how to proceed. Every time YouTube makes a change, I like the site less and less. For instance, here is a quote from a recent blog post of theirs:

Featured Videos will be primarily populated with videos from YouTube’s thousands of partners, but they might also include select user videos that are currently popular…

And so on and so on. It used to be that they just featured whatever they thought was cool. Now partnering isn’t even about an investment in the site; everything is about money, and I hate it.

In accordance with all of this hooha, I’ve been looking around at other video-sharing sites. I haven’t looked at all of them, but I signed up with dailymotion, so I’m going to try them and flickr out. I don’t know much about flickr. What I know about dailymotion is that you can post videos that are longer than 20 minutes, as well as HD. The normal file limit is 150 MB, which is a little puny in comparison to YouTube, but I think that might be different if you get a motionmaker account, like I did (it’s still free- don’t worry). I’m still figuring the site out. You know what I just now found, though? You can pick your very own thumbnail!

Here’s the video I posted over there. If you all check out the site, what do you think?

(and if that just looks like code to you like it does to me, click this)

What do you all think about YouTube? About the article? About the site’s future?

Oh, and here’s today’s magpral:

4 thoughts on “Hulufication of YouTube?

  1. I was really angry when I read this article as well. I mean, the entire point of YouTube is “broadcasting yourself” — a place where users could express themselves online and connect with thousands of other users. Granted, I think there are a lot of sites that let you do just that, but what I have always loved about YouTube is that it was built entirely on user-created content and it’s focus (for the most part, at least) has always been on the users. I do, however, feel like YouTube has been getting increasingly less focused on user-generated content and more focused on getting content from television networks, commercial music artists, etc. I agree with you that it just seems like YouTube is becoming more focused on money than anything else. I think it’s terrible that they are considering putting user created content on the back-burner just for the sake of profit. I mean, the youtube users are the ones who built up the entire youtube community and got it to where it is today. At the same time, though, I don’t think I would switch sites because of it. I love how personalized, simple, and easy-to-use Youtube is. Other sites such as Dailymotion seem difficult to use and cluttered with advertisments. I don’t know though; I’ve only been using Dailymotion for all of ten minutes, so it’s difficult to judge.

  2. Vimeo Vimeo Vimeo Vimeo Vimeo Vimeo

    Vimeo is to Youtube as Flickr is to Photobucket.

    The community / site has much more of an artist focus / vibe. Also they allow for higher quality videos. There are pro accounts (similar to flickr) that allow you upload even higher quality files.

    Definitely check it out.

Leave a Reply

