Alienation

alienation

Blogs can be so alienating. Even with the statistics WordPress gives me about how many hits my blog has gotten today, etc., blogging is very lonely. This feeling is due, in large part, to the fact that I don’t get many comments. Now don’t get me wrong: this is not an appeal to the people who read this to comment more (people only comment when they feel inspired to, and I guess I just haven’t been inspiring). If I did that, the comments wouldn’t mean as much, and wouldn’t be as good a gauge of… anything.

Jesus, this certainly is turning out to sound emo.

The reason I’m writing this is because, since I don’t get many comments, I forget that people read this blog. But I was just reading Marion‘s latest post, and I didn’t comment. I don’t normally comment. So I was thinking that she probably doesn’t think I read her blog, either. I don’t normally comment on anyone’s blog. Not Kayley or Gabby, not Joe or Hayley

I see the numbers; I know that people read this. And yet, it is so one-sided and uncommunicative.

What is it about blogs that make them so soap-boxey? Sometimes I feel like I sit at my computer, pontificating my thoughts and opinions, and when I publish them, they become law. Maybe it’s because no one “challenges” them.

Just in case this has ever turned you off from leaving a comment, though, you don’t have to have a WordPress account to leave a comment on my blog.

Anyway, I hope you’re all well!

(and can I just say I LOVE that picture)

One thought on “Alienation

  1. I completely understand you here. I say a lot in my blog and I rarely ever get a comment… no one i know knows I have a blog because I want it to be personal in that sense but I still want it to be read by someone somewhere…

Leave a Reply

