Whose Version?

A YouTube pet peeve of mine is when I post a cover of a song and someone asks me whose “version” I’m doing. I always feel a little insulted as an artist–asking that question makes me think that the person asking thinks I have no artistic voice, and my music is only an echo of someone better.

But it sure sounds pretentious to answer

“Whose version?”

with

“Mine”

singing

One thought on “Whose Version?

  1. Please keep in mind that as an artist and musician, things are obvious to you that are not so clear to others – such as what a “cover” is, why a piece of music sounds different when performed by different musicians…a gentle lesson (no one likes to be talked down to) would be a public service, and a help to us all…

Leave a Reply

