Mirrors

No, this isn’t about Justin Timberlake’s new single.

Have you ever noticed when you look in the mirror that you only see what’s “wrong” with what you see? Our internal dialogue says,

My face looks fatter

My jaw is weird

This part of my hair is doing that thing again

I look tired

I wish I looked more like So-and-So

We do facial gymnastics, practicing our smiles to be better, we pose, prod, and adjust our bodies so they’ll look more this way or that.

But have you ever thought of what it might do if, when you look in the mirror, you see what’s good?

My skin is vibrant

That zit I had is gone

My eyes are nice

I like the shape of my jaw

I look happier

Whatever it is, use the mirror as a way to recognize the good instead of check up on and exacerbate what you see as negative in yourself. It’s a looking glass. Not a problem finder.

Leave a Reply

